ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Cheese rolls

with 5 comments

A Saturday night “kinda thing”, if you ask me – flavored white rolls with cheese. Of course using my favorite formula for baguette dough, which has a levain added to it. It makes the dough come alive and produce bread of the highest caliber. If I only could get my shaping skills under control…

cheeserolls

Cheese rolls (makes 4 a 120g)

  • 250g strong white flour
  • 50g white leaven, hydration: 100%
  • 175g warm water
  • 2.5g fresh yeast
  • 5g sea salt
  • 125g cheese, cut into 1cm-cubes (Emmentaler or a similar firm yellowish cheese, I’ve used a cheese sold here as “Bergkäse” (“mountain cheese”)
  • 1/2 tsp sweet paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/3 tsp cayenne pepper

Mix to a smooth dough without the cheese, then add the cheese and fold in. Prove for 60 minutes, then cut into four pieces and shape oblong. Prove for 60-90 minutes until light. Bake at 240°C for 10 minutes, then reduce heat to 220°C and bake for further 7-10 minutes.

Written by theinversecook

24 April 2010 at 22:09

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Nils.
    They look tasty!

    Funnily enough, I’ve been looking at a Spanish site for baguettes.
    There’s a video on there showing how to shape – according to them a very important side to the perfect baguette.

    I’ll be making them in the week, trying my hardest to shape them successfully, I hope mine aren’t duds!

    Here’s the vid for that forming baguettes: http://www.lacocinadebabetteblog.com/2010/03/formando-baguettes.html

    GillthePainter

    25 April 2010 at 17:21

    • Thanks Gill, looks like a gentle way of rolling the baguette. But either this person has very large hands or those are ficelles :-)

      I must remember to let the pieces have an intermediate rest before shaping too.

      I also noticed that the way I score (these rolls were only scratched) baguettes is unnatural. I usually have the baguette dough lying in front of me pointing away from me and I score in a direction from 2 o’clock to 8 o’clock. That way, if I had to do it 1,000 times, my arm would eventually fall off. The baguette should be lying in front of me with its ends left and right and the scoring is a sweeping motion to the right (I’m right handed), sort of in an underhand grip of the razorblade.

      theinversecook

      26 April 2010 at 02:10

  2. I suppose the only down side if your baguette is north to south is, you run the mild risk of swinging a knife towards your body.
    If you’re a flamboyant Zorro type of slasher that is.

    I was wondering which flour to use for baguettes, but the Spanish recipe, you and Zeb seem to favour a strong flour.
    So I’ll go with that.

    In the process of perfecting the cottage loaf too. It’s only just dawned on me not to have the top circle too heavy, as it squishes the bottom round flat.
    Nearly there – I guess I’m one of nature’s slow learners me.

    GillthePainter

    26 April 2010 at 12:53

  3. Fantastic this bread

    Gent jove pa tou

    5 May 2010 at 19:27

    • Thanks! :-D

      theinversecook

      6 May 2010 at 16:21


Leave a Reply

