ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Slow blogging!

with 24 comments

Break coming up. This blog will not be updated until 16 October 2009

P.S. I’m not on vacation. More on a reclusive mission to better baking :-)

I can’t deny a growing indifference to the blogging world though and this blog seems to be in danger of getting repetitive and riddled with clutter from my side. Although it doesn’t concern this blog, I feel blogging has become too much of a “If you call me Einstein, I call you Shakespeare” thing. That alone might be nothing to worry about since it’s human to exchange positive comments or reviews. You cannot really blame someone for not contributing anything new each time (s)he speaks. But the grand perspective cannot be overlooked either. Not only blog-, but also book authors take trivial stuff, dress it up with the help of fancy pictures and try to sell this as something of value, which is a low and bleak thing to do.

On the other hand, the more technical stuff which would really improve one’s cooking or baking skills needs a lot of testing and an almost scientifically exact style of writing, which pretty much means going against the trend of writing in a “breezy” manner. It cannot really be done as a hobby. I felt this blog should not be about me telling a story about how I went shopping and went into the store and how I bought this “super” flour and how I decided to add some salt to the bread dough, which tastes “absolutely fantastic” etc.

Written by theinversecook

1 October 2009 at 15:03

Posted in About this blog

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I haven’t made the pepper rye yet, my starters seem a bit sluggish (like my posting…cough). I just made baguettes with cooked potato in the dough. They had a huge volume, really odd. But good.

    I do know about the shattering crusts of poorly made rolls. A few weeks back I went into a bakery that had nicely looking’Vienna rolls’, i.e. slightly sweetened white dough with egg wash. Wow, I had to throw away most of it. After a couple of chews I had something in my mouth that can only be described as a tasteless mass with a floury finish, topped by an awkward improver-flavor, which is absolutely impossible to get when using flour-water-yeast-salt only. Bon appetit… On the other hand, I just found a bakery with truly good croissants (‘Pain & gateau’ in Münster, perhaps I can write about this bakery in a week or so).

    theinversecook

    5 November 2009 at 22:33

  2. The pepper rye is a yeasted bread, unless you are going to adapt it to a starter. It is a very soft bread, I think due to the cooked rye flour soaker. I was just curious to hear what you thought of it…I think of it as a rye bread for people who don’t like the sourdough type of rye, of which there are many here, a sort of introduction to rye for the unsure..

    But what I really want to do is to pick your knowledgeable brain about ‘backferment’. Bakery Bits has kindly decided to stock it, (more nagging on my part,) and has sent me a tin and I am not quite sure where to begin with it. I have seen bits and pieces of formula here and there and visited the sekowa site. As far as I can see you can either use it as a dried yeast substitute, or you can make a starter that you keep for a while, but don’t feed? Is that what you recall?

    zeb

    9 November 2009 at 13:52

    • I’ve used it a while back, discarded it after a while and just had anotehr go but got sidetracked again *eye roll*

      Sekowa praise the merits of Backferment by saying it makes it possible to rise any type of grain, including gluten lacking ones. Also, they say, the braeds will be mild.

      I am interested in using it as a starter in combination with a little yeast. As can be seen on this blogger’s page the potential of making good-looking bread is there. A synpsis of the recipe from that blog:

      For the starter:
      – 10g Backferment starter, cf. instructions on the package of the fine powder
      – 3g of the Backferment powder
      – 300 meal or flour, or a mix
      – 300g water, warm, about 40°C

      Let stand for 12-20 hours unteil clear signs of fermentation are visible.

      For the dough:
      – starter
      – 700g flour
      – 18g salt
      – approx. 350g water

      Let rest for 40-50 minutes, the shape, proof and bake.

      So perhaps one could go from there and venture into more Backferment baking :-)

      theinversecook

      10 November 2009 at 01:31

  3. the first batch of the ‘bf’ has gone in the bin :( I followed someone else’s directions before I saw yours, which crucially left off the 10 g of Backferment starter. I have now made up a batch of the angrundsatz and made a sort of sponge from some of that and we’ll see what it looks like in the morning.Hmph.

    zeb

    12 November 2009 at 03:43

    • I wish I could offer any hiints. One thing that struck me was that after 3 months in the fridge, – undisturbed, neglected, forgotten! – it smelled very fresh when I washed it out with warm water.

      theinversecook

      13 November 2009 at 00:36

  4. I have this thread on Sekowa if you are interested…

    http://www.cookaround.com/yabbse1/showthread.php?t=106911

    Diana

    5 December 2009 at 02:26

  5. Thank you Diana, my italian is pretty basic, but that was a kind thought, your thread looks wonderful and very informative :)

    zeb

    5 December 2009 at 18:53


Leave a Reply

