ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Saftig kerniges Roggenbrot

with 34 comments

Another Bäko recipe I’ve wanted to try. Note the high amount of starter and the salt in the sourdough build. Especially in the warmer months, adding salt is a good way to slow down fermentation a little giving the baker increased control over acidity.

Speaking as ‘bread sommelier’, this bread has a long finish and the rather complex flavors really only come together after the bread has had a couple of days rest, preferably undisturbed and wrapped in paper. But that’s an unrealistic secneario because you know you want to cut into it as soon as it is cool enough to handle. I like to take two thick slices, slather them with wurst or put cheese on them and have them as breakfast or lunch with an enormous cup of tea, coffee or a big glass of orange juice.


Very coarse rye meal

Moist and grainy rye bread (makes 1 big loaf)

Salted sourdough ‘Salzsauer’

  • 35g mature rye sourdough, hydration: 100%
  • 180g very coarse rye meal, ‘chunky’
  • 145g spring water
  • 3.5g sea salt

Let stand at room temperature for 16-20 hours.

Soaker #1

  • 180g very coarse rye meal, ‘chunky’
  • 13g sea salt
  • 145g hot water water

Let stand at room temperature at least 5 hours.

Soaker #2

  • 120g sunflower seeds, lightly toasted
  • 60g linseeds (flax seeds)
  • 60g stale rye bread, cut into 1/2cm cubes
  • 240g water

Let stand at room temperature at least 8 hours.

Dough

  • Sourdough
  • Soaker #1
  • Soaker #2
  • 240g rye flour, Type 1150
  • 2g fresh yeast
  • 30g dark beet syrup
  • 100-150g water to make a moist dough, not too soft

Knead slowly for 30 minutes in a spiral mixer (I’ve used 5-minute-intervals of hand-mixing). Let dough rest for 45 minutes, then knead for 5 minutes again.
Desired dough temperature: 27-28°C
Final Fermentation: 60-70 minutes.
Bake in a big bread tin at 240°C for 20 minutes, then reduce heat to 180°C and bake for further 60 minutes. Let cool completely overnight, then cut in half. Store one half wrapped in paper while you eat the other one. Stays fresh for at least 1 week.

Written by theinversecook

9 July 2009 at 14:00

34 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is one I will make again! I have waited 2 days to taste it and it’s really delicious. I used this very coarse roggen shrot that I was brought from Germany and some old 60/40 that I had put in the freezer. Organic molasses for the sugar. I did look at the ‘salzsauer’ when I had made it and thought it looked pretty strange, something like a museli rather than a smooth starter, I made both the soakers up last thing at night and made the dough in the morning. Thank you Nils. I may have to get a mill once my little supply of shrot runs out… I have sent some to my father with some Somerset smoked eel to cheer him up as he fell down the stairs of his house last week. Whose recipe is it he asked? He likes your 60/40 too!

    Zeb

    16 July 2009 at 13:36

    • Amazing to hear that you liked it. And the combination with smoked eel is excellent I agree 100%. I’ve had incredible smoked eel in Oldenburg, Germany once. It was served with black bread and Schnaps. Very greasy, very good.

      Roggenbrot – the only travelling loaf :-D

      theinversecook

      17 July 2009 at 16:09

  2. Try smoked eel with scrambled eggs next time, as we use in Danmark. And it’s true roggenbrot it’s a travelling loaf. I’ve sent a loaf to Italy and it has been really appreciated!

    Massimo

    18 July 2009 at 21:20

    • You’re right smoked eel with scrambled eggs.I think I have had it that way a long time ago in Hundested where my danish grandfather lived. That smoked eel was the best ever, I think they smoked it at the harbour in the old days…

      doginspace

      26 July 2009 at 22:23

      • Indeed, doginspace :-) I’ve seen serving suggestions for rye bread using fish. And I hadn’t thought it would be good until I had some.

        theinversecook

        26 July 2009 at 23:08

        • Nothing to do with bread this comment…Not sure why that says doginspace now…that’s part of the email address) it’s still only me Zeb. I thought a picture would be nicer than a blank silhouette, I googled how to do it and found something called gravatar, which mysteriously adds a little picture if I visit a blog. But it seems to have made a ‘nickname’ as well. Hm.
          Not sure if I got it right.

          Zeb

          28 July 2009 at 02:09

          • Roger that. Haven’t used the gravatar service, but I do like the pic of dough shaping.

            Good to have you back on the ground Zeb…although “dog in space”…cute!

            theinversecook

            28 July 2009 at 17:17

  3. I just made this, wonderful loaf! Juicy full of seeds, literal translation! Had it with a fennel orange sausage I found at a local salumeria!

    Jeremy

    Jeremy

    26 July 2009 at 03:03

    • Fennel, orange, rye. Quite something to drool upon. I had some Leberwurst and cheese. Every morning for about a week. Will make another Vollkornbrot.

      theinversecook

      26 July 2009 at 20:08

  4. […] Breade Blogge advised me too and took a picture to show me what coarse rye meal looks like in his Saftig Kerniges Roggenbrot post. Nils is brilliant on rye […]


Leave a Reply

