ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

A weekly loaf and taking its temperature

with 4 comments

This is a formula that I like to bake almost weekly because it’s so good with salami and mustard, especially in the evening. Not easy to get a good profile and well-aerated crumb at the same time. This time I was armed with thermometer and calculator.

It’s made from 450g of flour, 60% rye and 40% wheat, one third of the rye flour being incorporated into a sourdough. And I also added a yeasted poolish from 50g of the white flour. Hydration was 70%, total quantity of yeast around 1% yeast. Also added a little malt and sugar beet syrup, a total of less than a teaspoon. The recommended temperature is 28°C. Ambient temperature was 21°C. So I used a water temperature of 2 x 28°C – 21°C = 35°C.

It worked. I am surprised. After sticking my meat thermometer into the dough, it slowly went up from 21°C to 28°C. I had not even taken into account the prefermented mixes. And the bread has a good crumb and almost perfect flavor. Good to know.

Written by theinversecook

18 April 2009 at 13:02

Posted in Bao, Bread, Brot, food, pain, pane

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aha! Das ist ja wirklich interessant. Manchmal denke ich über dieses Temperaturen-Gedöns nach. Dass in Großbetrieben solche Vorgaben wichtig sind, das leuchtet mir ein. Für meine Miniportionen führe ich bei der Herstellung von Teig nicht so einen Tanz auf. Bei der Wahl der Backtemperatur aber schon. Da peile ich ja auch nicht über den Daumen, bei welcher Temperatur das Brot oder der Kuchen oder das Fleisch gebacken bzw. gegart wird. Also, es leuchtet eigentlich doch ein, auch bei der häuslichen Teigbereitung die nötige Sorgfalt walten zu lassen. Warum auch nicht? Nach Deinen Vorgaben (die hatte Bäcker Süpke auch schon mal veröffentlicht, glaube ich) sollte das doch kein Problem sein – auch ohne Taschenrechner ;-) Die Liste wird länger…. Mohnkuchen steht unter anderem auch noch an, ich muss mich ranhalten. Ein schönes Wochenende für Dich!

    Schnuppschnuess

    18 April 2009 at 14:05

    • Ja, ich war doch positiv überrascht von der Wirkung der Temperatureinstellung und finde es bemerkenswert. Der Teig hatte auch andere Eigenschaften, die – meine ich – fühlbar waren. Er war zusammenhängender und elastischer. Nach der Teigruhe war er sehr bequem formbar, ich habe ihn fast ohne Mehl auf der sonst extrem klebrigen Kunststoffarbeitsplatte herumrollen können. Aber gut, weitere Testläufe müssen erstmal her, bevor eine richtige Bewertung gemacht werden kann. Schönes Wochenende wünsche ich Dir auch.

      theinversecook

      18 April 2009 at 17:53

  2. Oh oh, it looks delicious again, and very aerated for such a high amount of rye.

    Miriam

    20 April 2009 at 23:47

    • It was quite good. Tends to get a bit firm and dry afater 2 days …. next time a bit of soake meal is called for I think. Thanks, Miriam.

      Regards,
      Nils

      theinversecook

      22 April 2009 at 02:06


Leave a Reply

