ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Dunkles Weizenmischbrot mit Sojaschrot, Körnern, Mais und Hafer

with 7 comments

“Dark mixed-wheat-bread with soya meal, grains, corn and oats”. Petra has baked it and so has Ulrike. Petra writes, that the source of this recipe is a book devoted entirely to rye baking, Roggen – Das Standardwerk, the imposing title. A very tempting title. I shall see for how long I can resist the temptation of actually acquiring it as well.

The bread is a robust wheat/rye (in a ratio that has yet to be determined) loaf, that is darkened with coloring malt – common practice to make an almost white loaf look a bit healthier. If it is a good malt, it adds additional flavor, if not, well, it makes the bread taste funny. I’ve used the roasted Bio-Quellmehl from the Adler Mill. The crumb is moist and tender with just a nod towards graininess. It is a mild bread. The Quellmehl made my loaf look a little gray, unexpectedly.

I reduced the final rest to about 25 minutes. With a good amount of meal and coarse seeds and grains in this loaf, I feared the dough would eventually pass the ‘spread point’ after 30 minutes. The ‘spread point’ being the stadium after which the dough would flatten too much in the ofen due to reduced surface tension and fluffiness. I paid for it with excessive random oven lift. A deep slash down the center of the bread made it look almost as if I had control over what I’m doing.

Written by theinversecook

3 April 2009 at 17:36

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ach, du auch?

    Ulrike

    3 April 2009 at 20:57

    • Jawoll. Weizensauerteig ist gerade etwas alt, und auf Hefevorteig hatte ich keine Lust, ebensowenig auf pfriemeliges Baguette-Wirken. Ein ideales Abendbrot.

      theinversecook

      3 April 2009 at 23:23

  2. A nice looking loaf of bread! The crust of the bread looks bold and hearty! I can almost smell the bread just by looking at the picture of the crumb. :-) I wonder if the book, “Roggen – Das Standardwerk” has a recipe for creating a starter?

    Carl

    4 April 2009 at 06:54

    • It probably does. Petra would know. The crust was good. I must add that I did not bake it at the recommended 250°C first, but a comfortable 210°C. I was afraid of quick browning.

      theinversecook

      5 April 2009 at 04:23

    • There is no recipe for creating a starter in this book.

      Petra aka Cascabel

      27 April 2009 at 21:15

  3. That is one incredible looking hunk of bread. Art, actually. And yes, I’d say it looks entirely like you know what you’re doing. Wow.

    kellypea

    5 April 2009 at 23:54

    • Thanks, kellypea. I still had full control over the slashing, but since the dough was underproved there was no telling what it would do. It exploded a little, I’d say :-)

      theinversecook

      6 April 2009 at 12:13


Leave a Reply

