ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

60/40 rye with old-bread-sourdough starter

with 11 comments

I think I had the same idea about making a hearty rye bread at the same time as Jeremy from STIR THE POTS. I have yet to find a bread or baked good that he can not do and eventually it will happen, I am sure, but for now I tip my imaginary hat to his effort on Bauernbrot.

In my loaf, I think the separate yeast starter gave a crackling crust – something usually not associated with German rye breads, which tend to be rather soft. Hm, not quite where I want to be with my never-ending quest for “60/40”. A little bit of rye meal would not hurt to make the crumb a little more rustic. But excellent flavor.

60/40 rye with old-bread-sourdough starter aka “Crusty rye bread”

Old-bread-sourdough starter

  • 1 slice of toasted and stale bread, preferably a dark type (~40g)
  • 90g fine dark rye flour
  • 150g warm water
  • 1 tsp of mature rye sourdough, hydration: 100%

Let stand at room temperature for 16 hours.

Poolish

  • 50g strong white flour
  • 50g water
  • 0.1g freh yeast

Let stand at room temperature for 16 hours.

Dough

  • 180g fine dark rye flour
  • 180g strong white flour or white spelt flour
  • 175g warm water
  • 5g fresh yeast
  • 10g sea salt
  • Old-bread-sourdough starter
  • Poolish

Bulk fermentation: 1 hour.
Final fermentation: 45-60 minutes.
Bake at 240°C for 10 minutes, then reduce heat to 210°C and bake for further 45 minutes.

Written by theinversecook

15 December 2008 at 15:55

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My yeasted rye breads, without any coarse meal added to them, suck a little lately. Rye is just the best with lots of crushed grains. Although a nice deli loaf isn’t too bad either.

    Now I either use a soaker or leave out the yeast and proceed like in Katrin’s Körnerbrot. The crust of my rye bread usually gets better after the first day.

    theinversecook

    19 December 2008 at 21:33


Leave a Reply

