ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Detmold-3-Stage 80% rye

with 10 comments

This is the first picture of an 80% rye loaf made using the “Detmolder Dreistufenführung” in which a rye starter is built in a series of three stages. This is the Detmold-3-Stage 80% rye from the book Bread by Jeffrey Hamelman. Sorry, no crumb pic yet.

(The weather has been a little too friendly the past few days. I admit I did not spend a lot of time in the kitchen.)

Written by theinversecook

17 May 2008 at 12:52

Posted in Bread, Brot, food, pain, pane

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hast du wirklich die unterschiedlichen Temperaturen genau hinbekommen?
    Sieht lecker aus.

    Ulrike aka ostwestwind

    17 May 2008 at 17:08

  2. Nein :-) Ich habe die Sauerteigansätze immer so weit gehen lassen, bis sie in der Mitte einfielen. Geschmacklich finde ich das Brot nicht so überragend. Vielleicht liegt es ja an den Temperaturen, aber ich habe dahingehend sowieso widersprüche Angaben in Büchern gefunden.

    theinversecook

    17 May 2008 at 21:11

  3. Beautiful!
    How does the bread taste?
    Did you use a recipe from Hamelman’s book? How did you manage to keep up with the stringent timings of the Detmold process (that’s the main deterrent for me)

    Boaz

    17 May 2008 at 21:23

  4. Yes, it’s the recipe form the Hamelman book. I cannot keep to the exact temperatures – don’t know how to maintain them. I just waited each step until the starter was about to recede in the center.

    Flavor is ok, but still not the way I would like it. I think next time I will use an old-bread-soaker to get a more robust crumb.

    theinversecook

    18 May 2008 at 00:58

  5. Ich möchte doch an dieser Stelle anführen, mein Avatar-Muster macht mich zu alt ;-)

    Ulrike aka ostwestwind

    18 May 2008 at 10:34

  6. Im Gegensatz zum Design meines Blogs des Typs “Vergilbtes Papier in Wildlederkladde” wirkst “Du” aber noch recht frisch mit dem schicken roten Fliesenmuster :-) Aber ja, diese Muster sind wirklich schröcklich…

    theinversecook

    18 May 2008 at 21:29

  7. Nils,
    I got in touch with Dieter Buschmann from the backrezepte site and he translated his detmolder calculator for me quite nice really! I hope I will be up for the challenge of making some German bread finally!

    Jeremy

    20 May 2008 at 15:44

  8. Please do, Jeremy, I need to tweak my recipe, I’m not happy with the crumb at all – too tough. Might increase hydration drastically and bake in a tin.

    theinversecook

    21 May 2008 at 17:45

  9. The bread looks great!! I also wanted to try it, but afraid that I cannot keep the temperatures during the process.
    What was the temperature during the stages of the dough development?
    Is there a chance to see pictures of the slices of this bread?

    David

    23 June 2008 at 14:21

  10. Looks very tasty

    מדים

    13 November 2011 at 16:15


Leave a Reply

