ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Chnurzelbrot

with 10 comments

Chnurzelbrot is a twisted Swiss loaf. It has a lot of crust and an open crumb. The heavy dusting of rye flour adds an intense malty aroma to the crust.

Poolish

  • 135g strong white flour, US: All-purpose flour
  • 15g whole-wheat flour
  • 3g fresh yeast
  • 150g water

Mix and let stand for 1 hour at room temperature

Dough

  • 150g strong white flour, US: All-purpose flour
  • 60g warm water
  • 6g sea salt
  • Poolish

Mix to a smooth dough, let rise covered for 90 minutes and fold once after 45 minutes. Loosely shape into a thick sausage and dust heavily with rye flour. Let rest for 20 minutes, covered. Then shape oblong using lots of rye flour and tiwst. Prove for 45 minutes.

Bake at 250°C for 10 minutes with steam, then reduce heat to 220°C and bake for further 25-30 minutes.

Written by theinversecook

9 October 2010 at 18:40

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks absolutely fantastic, can’t ‘wait to give it a go this weekend!

    One quick question – There is no obvious mention of kneading. is it covered by your “Mix to a smooth dough” statement and if so any indication of time?

    Thanks again and I can’t wait to give it a crack,

    Tony

    TonyI

    26 May 2011 at 00:07

    • Hi Tony,
      yes, this was an abbreviation. This is a soft dough (hydration = 70%), so in terms of technical mixing terms, you would mix on 1st speed for 5 minutes and then on 2nd speed for about 3 minutes. Or as long as it takes to get a good development of the gluten network.

      Best,
      Nils

      theinversecook

      26 May 2011 at 00:21

      • Thanks Nils,
        I am on baking at home for the family so I do things by hand, so what do your mixer times convert to in terms of hand kneading and can this conversion be used across all your recipies?

        Sorry for all the questions but I am fairly new to this.

        Thanks for sharing

        Tony

        TonyI

        26 May 2011 at 00:31

        • Hi Tony,
          I like to use a technique which I read first about in Dan Lepard’s “The handmade loaf”, with minor modifications. Briefly mix the dough with a fork and let dough rest for 5 minutes. Repeat this mixing and resting 3 more times, then mix the dough for a few minutes on a lightly dusted surface. That’s the method I have found to be very useful and it yields a perfectly kneaded dough.

          Best,
          Nils

          theinversecook

          29 May 2011 at 13:21

    • I made this bread and it is incredible.Crusty exterior, light interior.Bernie

      Bernie

      20 November 2011 at 17:16

  2. Nils,

    I really like yout blog and some time ago I baked some breads that you taugth us to bake. And I always read with interest your articles about different aspects of bread making and followed your experiments.

    I am grateful to you and I would be glad to send something to you that I do. It could be a jam, like another reader did, or maybe, some homemade biscuits or long-lasting cake, or something else. Anyway I do not live far from you, so it should not take long for the parcel to reach you. If you agree, send me your post adress, please. Olga

    eliabel

    29 May 2011 at 02:41

  3. Hi Olga,
    thank you so very much. I’d love to get a parcel from you and am grateful too for the response I get from youon my blog. Jam sounds great to me. I’ve sent you an E-Mail.

    Have a great sunday!
    Nils

    theinversecook

    29 May 2011 at 13:25

  4. Hi Nils,
    I always have the idea that you read anything about bread, have you seen this? http://www.seriouseats.com/2011/06/the-food-lab-the-science-of-no-knead-dough.html?ref=obinsite
    Probably nothing new for you. I’m going to dig through your blog to see what you had to say about it. Especially the oven part. I used to use closed vessels but my oven is to small to bake enough bread then so I now bake on a sheet. Bread is ok but not as crusty despite steaming.

    Peter Pann

    21 June 2011 at 08:47

  5. [...] Okt 2011 von Ilka Im Blog ye olde bread blogge ist mir ein interessantes Brot namens Chnurzelbrot aufgefallen, dass mich schon wegen des Namens zum Nachbacken inspiriert [...]

  6. Wow, that bread looks amazing. I love making bread, but I have had varying results. The best that I make is with flour that I buy from the sack in a local bakers

    Yvonne

    18 September 2012 at 12:06


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

