ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Rye-Spelt Loaf with Pumpkin Seeds

with 5 comments

Strangely, adding coarsely ground grains makes for a more active dough and a well-aaerated crumb. The dough for this loaf is simply made from rye sourdough (150g, made with whole-rye flour), a spelt-pumpkin-seed soaker (250g in total, using 150g coarsely ground spelt grains) and 250g medium rye flour, salt, yeast and additional water. As with all loaves that include a considerable amount of coarse meals, there is an extra mixing time of about 5-10 minutes at the end of the first rest. Next time will add more grain chunks and perhaps I will have a loaf such as the beauties on the site of Steinofenbäcker – a very good bakery that sells moist and grainy breads and excellent fruit bread as well.

Written by theinversecook

19 September 2010 at 01:32

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Nils, Every time I stop in I’m amazed by the fantastic selection. The Rye/Spelt loaf is one I will definitely try. I also enjoyed the formula for the Apple and Sultana Danish, the pictures made me salivate and the text made me laugh. I have changed the name of my outfit to The Cliffside Hearth as the old name was already registered and I wanted to incorporate in case I ever open a retail bakery(I will). I most definitely will make both the Rye/Spelt loaf and the Apple Sultana Danish… and say I made them up ☺
    Take care.
    Best,
    David

    David Aplin

    23 November 2010 at 08:01

    • Hi David,
      thanks for the update on your blog’s address. Alle of your loaves look perfect (how? *amazed*).

      That’s what is supposed to happen to recipes, I guess…they get picked up, changed a little and are transformed into something new. :-)

      theinversecook

      24 November 2010 at 23:26

  2. WOW I’m pretty amazed – your loaves look perfect!!!

  3. Hi,
    Is it possible to write the recipe?
    Thank’s a million

    Avital

    28 December 2010 at 19:47

  4. rye flour 400gwholemeal spelt flour 400gstrong white flour 100geasy-bake dried yeast 10gfine sea salt 1 tspwarm water 600mlhoney 3 tbspshelled walnuts 100ggrated parmesan 75gPut the flours into a warm, generously sized mixing bowl with the dried yeast and salt, and mix well.

    Dorian P. Christensen

    16 January 2013 at 21:17


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

