ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

A parcel from England

with 11 comments

Today the postwoman handed me a heavy parcel that had a “Royal Mail” sticker on it. I opened the neatly packed parcel very quickly to find that inside was Gill’s “Cotswold Orchard Damson Jam”. MMH.

It tastes great – very smooth consistency and a big fruit flavor not masked by excessive sweetness as is often the case in commercial products.

Thank you, Gill!

Gill's Plum Jam
Written by theinversecook

18 September 2010 at 21:22

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lovely! One of our customers brought in some damsons this week and I made some into jam. Also made a damson cheesecake for our pizza night. We are using the jam in some Damson and Almond tarts! See the middle shelf on this pic… http://twitpic.com/2om53b

    Andy

    Andrew

    18 September 2010 at 23:14

    • Oh boy, that’s a sight. The tarts look big, love the display.

      I missed the outdoor market today so could not buy really good damsons yet. As usual, I will be one of the last to cook with them. Good thing I have a jar of damson jam now for my damson cravings.

      theinversecook

      19 September 2010 at 01:42

  2. Lucky you :) I bet Gill’s jam is excellent !

    Joanna @ Zeb Bakes

    19 September 2010 at 02:45

    • Yes, very smooth and complex aromas.

      theinversecook

      19 September 2010 at 03:36

  3. I’ve been published…… fame at last.

    Good morning Nils, Andrew and Joanna!
    I recognize that labelling and jam contents.

    I’m so pleased you like the fruit spread, Nils, as I particularly enjoyed making that one.
    It’s the colour, damson’s so PINK.

    & sweet and tart at the same time.

    Talking of tart, your pastries look fabulous Andrew. Yumm-o!

    GillthePainter

    19 September 2010 at 10:14

    • Just had more of it on grilled bread

      The fact that it is not overy sweet would also make it great for having with savoury things like meat. Or on an Asian-inspired sandwich with some spiciness added.

      theinversecook

      19 September 2010 at 20:19

    • Hehe Gill! My baker, Steve churn’s em out like nobody’s business! He’s a tart pro.

      A

      Andrew

      19 September 2010 at 21:42

  4. Well nicely done Steve, then!

    Just having my late brekkie, with grilled bread & jam too
    I don’t think I could physically put any more butter on there:

    http://lh6.ggpht.com/_snIHFpEmVKQ/TJc4P0FLT5I/AAAAAAAAGkQ/W8dt8d1IMjw/s512/S1038465.JPG

    (hope the image displays)

    GillthePainter

    20 September 2010 at 14:41

    • Lovely breakfast shot. I just used old bread to make a bread salat with red onions and tomatoes.

      theinversecook

      21 September 2010 at 17:18

  5. You are indeed a lucky man, Nils! I just baked a Volkornbrot loaf (two days ago but it must sit before slicing!) based originally on your Guinness Volkornbrot recipe and a spot of English Damson jam would be a-mazing on a slice of it.

    Odette (AZCook)

    23 September 2010 at 02:26

    • Lucky I am. Damson jam is extremely versatile, isn’t it? So is Vollkornbrot, as I’ve always liked it with sweet things on it.

      theinversecook

      23 September 2010 at 15:17


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

