ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

German bakers sue Aldi

with 10 comments

According to Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung German bakers have filed a lawsuit against Aldi Süd. Officially it’s about their false declaration of Aldi’s “Roggenmischbrot”, which needs to have at least 50% of rye in it, but apparently has not.

But of course the emergence of Aldi’s new baking shop system with fully-automated ovens that produce warm bread and rolls by a customer’s press of a button, is bound to make some German bakers unhappy as well.

That is a no-brainer. If the customer can have oven fresh bread for a lower price and does not find that the “German craft bakery” produces better bread, German bakers need to act, but not by going to court, in my opinion. If they cannot compete with an Aldi roll, it’s not Aldi’s or the market’s fault. Quite a few bakers are following the “light, quick, profitable” trend and have already taken it to pathological extremes. An “ordinary breakfast roll” from the typical “craft bakery” has never been produced quicker, has never been bigger and fluffier and has never weighed less. And it never tasted worse.

The site of the Association of German bakers sports the slogan “Besser, wir backen das Brot” – “You’re better off if you let us do the bread baking”. It seems to me the proof for that assertion needs to be rewritten again.

Written by theinversecook

22 July 2010 at 14:07

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As the only bread that is ‘protected by law’ in this country is wholemeal bread, Aldi will get along just fine here. Supermarkets here are allowed for example to call bread ‘spelt bread’ which has some tiny amount of spelt in it. There are different rules pertaining to wrapped and unwrapped bread and in fact the British consumer wouldn’t be able to work out what is in his/her bread even if she/he wanted to. And, if you do ask in the supermarket, they look at you as if you are mad anyway! Hope you have got a new oven coming soon, Nils. Have to say, I would quite like to press a button just once to see the whole hideous process in operation, but I don’t know if I would want to eat the results…..

    Joanna @ Zeb Bakes

    22 July 2010 at 14:37

    • We love ze regulations. I try supermarket and bakery bread from time to time, at the moment I am pretty much forced to. Right now, bread-wise I’m living on “Pain Paillasse”, which is protected and is made from flour, water, yeast and salt only. Not bad, but would rather bake my own bread. Just ate a horrible white roll, which was very doughy and tasted musty.

      theinversecook

      23 July 2010 at 19:40

  2. oh and the ‘organic’ label on a bread, as on most foods has to meet certain criteria by law, but not the types of flour in a loaf, nor the additives, lots of bread improvers do not have to be declared and so on… we are much less precise than you in Germany.

    Joanna @ Zeb Bakes

    22 July 2010 at 14:39

  3. So Aldi is getting into the business of having their own little bakery inside the market, eh? Just like PennyMarkt and Lidl. I have tasted some rolls from PennyMarkt, and they are not bad, but I know for a fact that these rolls and breads were not made on-site and were probably made in a factory somewhere else. I would very much like to buy and eat my bread from a bakery that makes it on-site. Of course, I have encountered some bakeries where they are now using ready mixed bread ingredients where they can mix, ferment, and bake rolls and breads within a 2 to 3 hour period, and this includes sourdough breads. Of course, this means the sourdough comes in a powder form, and it is not the true sourdough that we are lead to believe. I hope bakers will educate the customers about the qualities of producing good bread and be creative to make different breads to attract more customers.

    Spencer

    22 July 2010 at 18:38

    • The use of dried sourdough or “dough acidifier” as it is called (and probably quite different to sourdough) is very common here too. I think I can spot it in a loaf.

      I’ve learned the bakers are also attacking Aldi for not baking the bread on-site. I can almost hear the community of bakers sighing about Aldi branching out more into the bread market.

      theinversecook

      23 July 2010 at 19:34

  4. I agree on your opinion, that customers should be drawn by quality. There has been declining bread baking culture in Germany, once famous for it’s great variety of hand-crafted breads.
    So called bakers who sell bread they got delivered from a factory or who just serve as outlet, should not be allowed to call their place a bakery. For customers (who often don’t know where the bread has been baked) it then would become easier to pick true bakers and support their efforts and quality standards.

    multikulinaria

    9 August 2010 at 11:45

    • I agree, and according to numerous forums for professional bakers (e.g. http://www.wir-baecker.de ) there is hope, as more bakers are fed up with buying bread mixtures and additives that allegedly makes baking the best bread so easy. (When in fact there are no shortcuts to great bread.)

      theinversecook

      9 August 2010 at 22:14

  5. Nice post

  6. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to say that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I achievement you get right of entry to consistently fast.

    Roulette

    14 July 2011 at 11:46

  7. I would just like to say I had my first visit to an Aldi market in Arlington TX in November of 2011. Lady I was with asked me if a loaf of bread had and fiber or other nutri’s, I was amazed, like 4g fiber/ slice. Anyway we went to her house, had a sandwich made with that bread and It was beyond any doubt the best bread I had ever eaten. It was an all Grain with seeds and nuts and that is why I’m looking today, a knock-off of that bread as I am back in the Philippines, and let me say the quality of supermarket bread has really improved in the last 5 years here in PI. But I think they might learn a little something if they tried Aldi’s.

    BTW, here is a sunny Day to you where ever you are.

    Anonymous

    4 January 2012 at 11:38


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

