ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

3-days breakfast rolls

with 5 comments

3dayrolls_tray
3dayrolls
The nice thing about these rolls is that the morning you need them, you just take a tray out of the fridge and pop it in the oven. The other nice thing is that they take two days of waiting for the dough. I had planned to make the dough very smooth by adding some lard, which was also used frequently by bakers when there were no chemical ‘improvers’, but I find they made the crust a bit hard. Perhaps that’s what lard does, but I might use butter or oil next time. Or a little Quark.

3-days breakfast rolls (makes 6-8 rolls)

Pâte fermentée

  • 100g strong white flour
  • 65 water
  • 2g sea salt
  • 1g fresh yeast

Mix and knead briefly. Let stand for 2 hours at room temperature until expanded. Then put into fridge overnight, for 12-18 hours. The next day take out of the fridge 2 hours before using it in the dough.

Soaker

  • 100g water, hot, approx. 80°C
  • 40g coarse spelt meal
  • 30g sunflower seeds
  • 30g rolled oats
  • 6g sea salt

Mix and let stand covered at room temperature for 3-20 hours, depending on your time frame (which shouldn’t be a problem if you’re making 3-days-rolls)

Dough

  • Soaker
  • Pâte fermentée
  • 100g strong white flour
  • 100g whole-spelt flour or wholemeal flour or whole-rye flour
  • 50-100g warm water, to make a loose dough
  • 20g lard
  • 5g barley malt
  • 3g fresh yeast
  • More sunflower seeds, rolled oats and any rye meal for sprinkling on top

Mix to a sticky dough using your favorite method, either by hand or machine. Let rise for 60-90 minutes until well-risen. Divide, shape into rolls, moisten the surface and dunk into a bowl of additional seeds. Line a small baking sheet with baking paper, put rolls on it and put in fridge overnight.

On baking day, get tray out of fridge, heat the oven to 260°C and put the tray in the oven. Wait 20-25 minutes until rolls’ color is a rich golden brown. If not eating them all, store in a freezer bag and toast the next morning, which sometimes brings out the most sensational whole-grain flavor.

Written by theinversecook

22 May 2010 at 14:46

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These look just like my favorite rolls that I used to get at my local cheese store. Stopped doing that since I bake my own bread but I was missing the rolls. Now I can make them at home. The ones I got at the cheese shop were so very good with Hvarti cheese or Gouda cheese or Edam cheese or a good sharp cheddar. Sometimes I would put a thin slice of really good ham with the cheese and have that for breakfast. I will be making these soon – as soon as I get an answer to my question below.

    One question is that I don’t keep rolled oats at home. I only keep the steel cut oats which I much prefer. Can I just use the steel cut oats in place or should I start cooking them so they are softer and then mix them in or should I run them through a coffee grinder first. I imagine they might be of a consistency that they would break the gluten strands but maybe not. The rest of it I am good to go but I just wanted to touch base on the oats first. I would hate to make this and keep it going for 2 days and then find I had messed it up with the oats.

    dick

    23 May 2010 at 21:35

    • I would think you can use the coarse steel-cut oats. Oats in general are quite soft, so as long as you soak them long enough until they are even softer, there shouldn’t be a problem. They behave like the spelt meal I’ve used. You could even increase the quantities of the soaker, but I would make it a rather loose dough. The dough might be different to a pure wheat-flour dough since the coarses bits, like you said, will cut through the gluten-windows, but every whole-grain roll or bread will reach such a point eventually, where it is not very practical to perferm a “window pane test”, i.e. strecthing the dough between hands so that you get a thin membrane of dough. That is ok.

      theinversecook

      24 May 2010 at 18:45

      • So essentially if I soak the oats overnight and then make the rolls I should be good to go. I will try that later this week as I think I will be ready to bake on Wednesday or Thursday. Big holiday weekend coming up here (Memorial Day is next Monday) and that is the start of the summer season. These rolls should work out rather well.

        dick

        24 May 2010 at 19:38

  2. Those look so good Nils, I haven’t been to Germany for years but I remember rolls like yours from a bio bakery in Bremen…. lecker!

    I remember reading a long time ago Dan Lepard writing about using beef dripping in teacakes that it made the bread softer than butter would and that one could sub white chocolate for this if one didn’t want to use animal fat. I wonder if that would work in these rolls… must be worth a try :)

    Joanna @ Zeb Bakes

    24 May 2010 at 13:33

    • Oh wow, haven’t been to Bremen in ages (I have family ties there), and I believe there are still very good bakeries in the old part of the city.

      Adding lard was my first shy step into the direction of using animal fats in non-savoury things. I believe there are traditional British baked goods and puddings that use suet? Now white chocolate is an idea after my liking :-D

      theinversecook

      24 May 2010 at 18:48


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

