ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

75/30 Landbrot

with 14 comments

A compact rye loaf reminiscent of old German baking techniques with 70% percent rye flour and an additional 5% of rye meal in the crust. How? An idea I borrowed from the technique of applying a “Dutch Crunch” to a soft sandwich bread. The crust is made as a separate dough and then spread on the surface of the bread before or halfway into the final rest. It’s proved in a dry and warm room, uncovered. Erratic tearing of the crust could have been more pronounced, perhaps, which can be achieved with a shorter final rest, I think. But the flavor is very big and finally, the crust definitely closer to what I’d like to have – firm without being too thick or tough. Very happy with this :-D

krustenbrot1

krustenbrot2

75/30 Landbrot

Sourdough crust

  • 25g medium rye meal
  • 50g warm water
  • small pinch of salt
  • 1/3 tsp of mature rye sourdough, hydration: 100%

Mix ingredients together and let stand covered for 12-18 hours at room temperature. The mixture will look inflated.

Poolish

  • 50g flour, Type 1050, or strong white
  • 50g water
  • 0.1g fresh yeast

Mix and let stand for 12-16 hours at room temperature. The mixture will look inflated and full of bubbles.

Dough

  • 360g rye sourdough, hydration 100%
  • 135g dark rye flour, Type 1150
  • 85g flour, Type 1050 or strong white
  • 110g water
  • 9g sea salt
  • 2g fresh yeast
  • Poolish

Mix slowly to a smooth dough. Desired dough temperature: 28°C. There will be no visible gluten development. Let rest for 1 hour in a warm place.

Shape oblong and put seam side down into a Brotform (banneton, proving basket, …). With a brush apply the batter for the crust and prove for 45-60 minutes uncovered. Tilt the banneton and with a swift motion of your hands towards yourself let the dough fall onto a piece of baking paper seam side down.

Bake at 240°C for 10 minutes, without steam. Reduce heat to 210°C and bake for further 40 minutes.

Written by theinversecook

31 March 2010 at 00:58

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you think you could proof the loaf without a brotform?

    Jeremy

    31 March 2010 at 12:50

    • The dough is on the wet side. Risky cause it spreads a lot. Perhaps in a couche with very stiff fabric like bakers linen? Or put a floured towel inside the banneton so you can lift it out. Proved dough can be handled! Mine landed on the baking paper with a loud and hollow *schwooomph*

      theinversecook

      31 March 2010 at 19:02

  2. Dear Nils, a propos of the deep crevassed crust quest,

    I watched Raymond Blanc, (didn’t know he was such a bread enthusiast!) make interesting rolls with a yeasted beer crust that came out with great big cracks in them and I thought of you! Here is the recipe in the public domain, though I don’t know if you can see the show. It’s in the Kitchen Secrets series…. http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/database/beerrolls_93234.shtml

    Zeb

    31 March 2010 at 18:06

    • Nice! Can’t watch the show from Germany (will try a bit harder tonight) but the recipe looks very promosing. Thanks. Will bake some rolls with his beer crust for Easter breakfast

      theinversecook

      31 March 2010 at 19:07

    • I’ve watched the show now and the rolls look very good. The paste was very thick and it looked like whole-rye flour to me. Tempted to try the brioche “tarte” for Easter :-)

      theinversecook

      31 March 2010 at 21:20

      • By the way this Landbrot looks just the thing, I must try it immediately! :) Well as soon as the starter permits. I will offer it to my friend’s German husband for his consideration, though he likes all your breads, I think only the vollkornbrot he is not so keen on, but I think he is thinking of his sandwiches…..

        Is the crust made with 1/3 tsp or 3 tsp of mature sourdough, a ‘t’ has crept in to your formula

        Glad you got to see Raymond in action! That brioche looks quite dangerously good. :) He also made a very nice apple custard tart in an earlier show, which would also be good for an Easter treat.

        zeb

        31 March 2010 at 22:08

        • Definitely nice to see a chef bake his own bread at the restaurant. I’d like to try the fougasse too, but was surprised he used rye flour in it.

          Yes, 1/3 tsp. Thanks!

          theinversecook

          1 April 2010 at 12:44

        • From the video, I also find my suspicion verified, that a yeasted sponge or poolish does not affect the texture of the final loaf as much as a white leaven. The pain de campagne, although carefully shaped, did not show an irregular aeration.

          theinversecook

          1 April 2010 at 14:42

          • I agree with you on that one. Even a pinch of yeast and the aeration evens out. I wonder why that is, the rate of production of gas by the yeast or leaven? I made a white leaven loaf in the week with spelt, emmer and strong white and it had very irregular aeration. I don’t think I was strict enough when I folded it but let it get away with hanging on to its big bubbles. I find I get them at the sides of the loaf quite often – something to do with my shaping?

            zeb

            1 April 2010 at 22:44

            • Inclusion of large holes by manual manipulation yeah :-) or as J. Hamelman writes: “If the holes are as big as a mouse, your shaping skills might need attention.” (quoting from memory)

              Not really sure about that, I see it as a sign of handcrafted bread and vigorous fermentation during the 1st rise.

              theinversecook

              2 April 2010 at 16:27

  3. Hi Nils

    I know this is the wrong place but where else do I post it.

    For several months now I’ve been getting a light grey mould on my rye starter which has been kept at room temperature. It doesn’t seem to affect it and I just scrape it off. Brought it to France with me, used it once, left it in the fridge for a month.

    No mould. Been out of the fridge for a few days, refreshed twice, still no mould.

    I assume the low temperature in the fridge has killed it off.

    Any thoughts?

    Mick

    bethesdabakers

    5 April 2010 at 10:47

    • Hi Mick,
      I can’t say that I didn’t have the mould at room temperature because I have never kept my starter outside the fridge. But perhaps it’s gone into hibernation, as they can be resilient as long as there is moisture (at least that’s the reason it’s so hard to get rid of it in wet basements).

      Or you scared it by putting a piece of French cheese next to it.

      theinversecook

      6 April 2010 at 00:01

  4. He this looks good. Specially the crust (I’m Dutch ;-)) Without kidding nice idea, never seen/heard this before. Will try someday. Unfortunately my girlfriends stomach is not big on Rye :-( I know add about 5% to bread mixtures.

    mart

    26 April 2010 at 08:44

    • Dank je wel, mart. Strangely, I’m a bigger fan of rye breads made with 70% or more rye flour than of very light ones. In wheat doughs like baguette or ciabatta I usually don’t add rye, even if some recipe suggested it. Perhaps a psychological thing.

      theinversecook

      30 April 2010 at 10:55


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

