ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Dinkelvollkornbrot

with 11 comments

vollkorndinkelbrot_scheibe

I don’t like the word ‘Vollkorn’ (whole-grain) as attribute for a bread or any other baked good. Perhaps bakers, in their shops, like to underline the extra bit of healthiness in their loaves, but doesn’t that give the impression that they chose their ingredients because it was about time to start eating healthy and stop devouring all those baguettes, croissants, brioches etc? And that’s supposed to resonate with customers? Not as long as “whole-grain” immediately translates to “not so tasty” in many people’s minds by giving such loaves too much praise for their (undisputed) positive effects on blood sugar levels, digestion,…

This loaf is moist from the inclusion of a wet soaker but unlike the Rye-Vollkornbrot it is quite mild and tame. Lovely as sandwich with lettuce, cream cheese and ham or as cheese canapés.

dinkelvollkornbrot_canape

Dinkelvollkornbrot

Soaker

  • 100g sunflower seeds, linseeds or rolled oats (or all)
  • 150g coarse spelt meal
  • 300g water, cold

Mix ingredients for the soaker and let stand covered overnight or at least 6 hours.

Spelt sour

  • 75g whole-spelt flour
  • 45g water
  • 1 tsp of mature rye or spelt sourdough, hydration 100%

Mix ingredients and let stand covered at room temperature for 15-20 hours.

Dough

  • 130g whole-spelt flour
  • approx. 100g warm water
  • 40g white spelt or wheat flour
  • 20g molasses
  • 10g sea salt
  • 8g fresh yeast
  • 1g bread spice (caraway, anis and fennel in equal parts, ground)
  • all of the soaker
  • all of the spelt sour

Mix to a smooth and sticky dough, let rest for 45 minutes. Shape oblong, place in baking tin, which has been lined with baking paper and prove for about 1 hour at warm room temperature, 23°C.

Bake at 250°C for 5 minutes, then reduce heat to 220°C and bake for further 20 minutes, finally reduce heat to 190°C and bake for another 45 minutes.

dinkelvollkornbrot

I lined my tin this way:

liningtin
Written by theinversecook

22 March 2010 at 13:55

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maybe one of the solutions to the bakeries is to place a pretty photo like your 2nd one to attract the customers to buy whole grain bread!

    Natalie

    22 March 2010 at 15:26

    • Or even the real thing as a small sample…I would be a grateful customer .-D

      theinversecook

      22 March 2010 at 18:17

  2. How do you line the tin with the paper? I can never fit the paper sheet well in the tin, especially when I make rugbrød which is spooned rather than placed in the tin.

    massimo

    22 March 2010 at 17:25

    • The rough way: Something like this. I take a piece of paper and place the tin on it, then cut away the corners where I want to fold the paper up. I cut at a slight angle so I don’t have to be tooe exact. Don’t know if that makes sense at all.

      theinversecook

      22 March 2010 at 18:19

  3. Wow! This is what I call a service minded blog!
    Thanks

    massimo

    23 March 2010 at 00:46

  4. What I would like are the instructions for making that wooden frame for the square breads! If I ask very politely, please, please, pretty please? No rush, just some time, one day, maybe? I could trade you for a bag of vanilla pods? What do you think? I have a freezer full of saftig kerniges roggenbrot from last month but would love to try this one soon, do you notice any difference in the dough with the spelt, whenever I use it is seems to prove very fast? Oh and I made that rye bread of Mick’s with the hot water and the preferment and it worked beautifully with the last of my german rye flour. Though I did get a blow out on the side because I didn’t dock the bread… but I was very pleased with it. I never used to put bread in polythene bags, but it seems to work magic on the crust of a rye and as both of you said to do it, as usual you are right!

    zeb

    23 March 2010 at 13:03

    • Will have to upload pic of the frame. It’s pretty self-explaining, probably not quite the value of vanilla pods, but when I saw you asked about the vanilla chocolate layer cake on Dan Lepardd’s forum I thought “500g minus 1″

      Rye seems to ferment quicker for me. But spelt dries out much faster. After 3 days I have to double the butter and the salami to get a moist bite.

      theinversecook

      23 March 2010 at 18:24

  5. Hi Nils

    Does this vollkornbrot have to wait for 24 hrs or longer before cutting or eating? Like the rye-vollkornbrot?

    Thanks
    Natalie

    Natalie

    23 March 2010 at 14:41

    • As soon as it has cooled it’s good to eat. Leaving it a night will just firm it up a little, but not improve flavor as fars as I can tell.

      theinversecook

      23 March 2010 at 18:26

  6. […] DinkelvollkornbrotBread made with a spelt and seed soaker – I was convinced by the author’s suggestion of making the lettuce, cream cheese and ham sandwich with it. (ye olde bread blogge) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

