ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Extra moist stollen again

with 13 comments

I think I am getting the shape right finally. This, like last year’s, is actually Dan Lepard’s ‘extra moist stollen’, which is made with pre-gelatinized rye flour. A modern interpretation of an old classic. Lovely.

Will do another Stollen from a German baking book for Christmas.

Treffen sich zwei Rosinen. Die eine hat ein kleines Lämpchen auf dem Kopf.
“Wieso hast Du da ein Licht auf dem Kopf?”, fragt die andere.
“Ich muss gleich noch in den Stollen.”

(Punch line of this Witz doesn’t quite work in English. Sorry.)

extramoiststollen
Written by theinversecook

29 November 2009 at 01:32

Posted in Bao, Bread, Brot, Cool site, food, pain, pane, Recipe

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Und mitten drin ‘ne dicke fette Marzipanrolle mmmmhhhh

    Ulrike

    29 November 2009 at 01:37

    • Ja, unbedingt. Sollte er mal trocken werden, wirkt das Marzipan Wunder.

      theinversecook

      29 November 2009 at 21:42

  2. oh wow yum!
    check out my food blog and tell me what you think:

    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

    Michael

    29 November 2009 at 13:37

    • Great looking blog, Michael. Love the old etching with the hedgehogs.

      theinversecook

      29 November 2009 at 21:44

  3. I was missing you! I love stollen, one of my sister’s in law is married to a German and they live in Kiel. Every year they bring some stollen for Christmas, though not homemade… I’ve got to try this one. I even have the marzipan!

    Miriam/The Winter Guest

    29 November 2009 at 14:07

    • More marzipan for all. Sweet of you to miss me. I’m still here, ust didn’t bake that much lately. Stollen is addictive. This stollen is good as it is, but once I’ve developed a taste in them, I keep looking for more recipe.

      I do think, a good recipes rather masks that it is a difficult cake/bread to make. The most common error is probably using too much yeast and letting the dough rise until it sweats butter. I still have memories of eating stollen that felt just a tad too fat and tasted of burned milk.

      Another good variation is to make it more cake like and use plain flour to get a very even crumb. I think I will bake another one next week-end. Mh, or maybe a bread first…

      theinversecook

      29 November 2009 at 21:51

  4. Wow it looks fantastic and just the shape you see in special bakeries. I sometimes find stollen a bit dry but this one looks very moist and delicious

    Katie

    2 December 2009 at 02:09

    • If it gets dry, there’s always increasing butter and fruit count, I guess. I couldn’t tell you if this one gets dry after a week, it was gone to quickly.

      theinversecook

      6 December 2009 at 03:31

  5. Missed you too! I made stollen for the first time last year and mine looked a bit like a cornish pastie, very ‘rustique’ aber gar nicht echt.

    I need to practise the finer art of folding I think. Do you tuck the top piece of dough round/under the marzipan to get it to look like that?

    Zeb

    2 December 2009 at 23:00

    • Somehow like that, Zeb. I saw it on TV once done by a German baker. He pre-shaped the dough into a flat oval and then made an indentation into the upper third half, which then served as a trench for the upper part wich was folded downards, I think *scratches head* …. not really sure. Yes, just fold the thing. That’s how I did it :-)

      theinversecook

      6 December 2009 at 03:35

  6. […] to what we ate as kids around Christmas time. Interesting to see that there are differences to the “Extra moist stollen” by Dan Lepard, […]

  7. Excellent – wish I could join you in a slice!

    Moranna

    22 December 2009 at 13:48

    • i’m late, it’s gone now, but I hope for the next bread :-D

      theinversecook

      26 December 2009 at 14:11


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

