ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Kopenhagener

with 10 comments

kopenhagener

CatherineM, on my Flickr page, asked about a picture I had made of a twisted pastry that I like to make, usually around the weekend. I have known this as ‘Kopenhagener’. It’s easy…once you have the croissant or Danish dough. It is impossible to buy fresh croissant dough here in Germany. And the ‘Plunderteilchen’ (German version of Danish pastries) and croissants from the bakery? Sure, if made with butter, they would actually be good, but often a tasteless hard fat (Palmin?) is laminated into the dough. I know of only one bakery, member of ‘SlowBaking e.V.’, that makes a few pastries with butter. By the rules of ‘slow baking’ they have to. Good thing too.

Kopenhagener

  • 1 recipe of croissant dough or 1/3 recipe of Danish dough. The latter will make a richer Kopenhagener.
  • 150g custard for baking. Sometimes, I make one with an instant custard mix. Or use real proper custard.
  • 100g raisins
  • 1egg, beaten
  • 125g icing sugar
  • 1-2 tbsp boiling water

Roll out dough to a long rectangle measuring about 45cm x 15cm, brush edges with beaten egg, then spread some custard on top and sprinkle raisins over it. Cut in half yielding two shorter rectangles measuring about 23cm x 15cm. Put the one half on top of the other and twist together, then shape into a ring. Proof for 1-2 hours, brush with egg and bake at 200°C for about 30 minutes.

Make the sugar glaze by adding a few drops of boiling water to the icing sugar and add more until you have a loose mixture. Dribble over the baked ring of raising-custard dough.

Written by theinversecook

16 August 2009 at 15:57

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful! Just like the ones we used to eat on our many Danish vacations. On the bread side, did you ever make a Danish rugbrød (rye bread) or have a recipe for it? I have wonderful memories of the bread our local baker used to make. Last time we visited, alas, the bakery had become a dry cleaning store…

    MC

    17 August 2009 at 17:47

    • From bakery to dry cleaning – quite a decline :-)

      I keep hearing about rugbrød and I wonder what it’s like. Is it sweetened at all?

      theinversecook

      17 August 2009 at 21:04

      • No, not sweet (although there might be some molasses in it to give it its distinctive taste). Rugbrød is to the Danes what baguette is to the French. It is their “pain national”. I guess the industrial ones you can buy are okay if you have never had the real thing but once you have, you really pine for it. I’d love to try my hand at it. I’ll be taking a German rye bread class at SFBI with a German instructor in September and I plan to ask him if he knows of a good recipe for rugbrød.I’ll keep you posted if you wish.

        MC

        17 August 2009 at 21:13

        • It must be so good. I only ate pastries when I was in Denmark, but that was some time ago. Might make a weekend trip over to Denmark and try to get some true Rugbrød. Internet search gives the usual mix of weirdness and obscurity :-(

          P.S. Oh gee, everybody is going to SFBI except me. Better start putting some dough away right now.

          theinversecook

          17 August 2009 at 21:18

          • There’s that recipe that Nina posted at the Australian sourdough forum: http://sourdough.com/forum/topic/285

            I’ve meant to try it…since forever, but I’m a slow mover. Some stout or porter (yes, stour or porter, not vegetable juice) in the preferment, and a tad muscovado sugar as sweetener in the final dough. I think there usually is some sweetener in many Danish ryes (molasses, brown sugar, honey, malt syrup etc.), which separates them ever so slightly from straight ryes.

            PS: So what kind of dough are you setting aside, Nils? ;)

            Hans Joakim

            18 August 2009 at 15:43

            • Looks very good. I never had any luck with sugar or molasses in rye dough, the breads would turn out quite dark and eventually taste bitter. Perhaps a very humid, preferably closed, baking pot or tin would help such as a toast bread tin.

              I am not good at putting things aside, unless it is bread dough (a short time) :-(

              theinversecook

              19 August 2009 at 01:52

  2. I enjoyed reading Nina’s recipe and the thread it generated. I’ll try my hand at it when I’m back from the rye bread class. Thank you for the link, Hans Joakim!

    MC

    18 August 2009 at 16:13

    • Happy baking

      theinversecook

      19 August 2009 at 01:53

  3. I’ve never seen that kind of wienerbrød (that’s how Danes call danish pastries) here in København. But it looks very danish and, in any case, much better of what you find in most danish bakeries nowadays, alas!.
    About rugbrød, I have a number of recipes of it and some do use molasses or more commonly hvidt øl (a kind of sweet dark beer with almost no alcohol), but most of it are quite similar to a Vollkornsbrot recipe: water, rye meal, chopped rye, salt and (but not always) sunflower seeds.

    massimo

    20 August 2009 at 19:55

    • ‘Kopenhagener’ was probably coined in Germany as a general term for a cake made from Danish pastry dough. Not a very clever name by any means, but it rather sticks with me.

      Yes, I will definitely will go with beer instead of molasses. It adds a nice color and flavor without turning bitter or making the bread turn too dark.

      theinversecook

      22 August 2009 at 21:53


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

