ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Katrin’s 70/30 rye bread (Updated 23 December 2008)

with 18 comments

Katrin was so kind to translate the recipe for her excellent rye bread to English and she also made a single pdf-file, which I’m glad to be able to ‘host’ on my blog: Katrins Körnerbrot (pdf-file)

I haven’t made the bread, but it certainly looks better than most rye breads I have pulled out of the oven recently, so I am going to venture into making it soon. Thanks, Katrin!

Update: Made this bread. I used roasted soya beans as the seed mixture. Looked strikingly like the one on Katrin’s photo. You have to believe me, it’s gone already. Great recipe.

Written by theinversecook

17 December 2008 at 14:52

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Grünkern…the name always made me feel reluctant to use it, will have to check up on that. The to-do-baking list for 2009 is growing.

    theinversecook

    3 January 2009 at 21:09

  2. Katrin,

    I cannot tell you for sure whether it is ripe or unripe spelt grain. I am using the spelt grain from Alnatura, and it is the whole spelt grain or kernel.

    Carl

    3 January 2009 at 22:53

  3. Hi Carl sounds as if it´s really ripe spelt-grain if it looks like this: http://www.klopfermuehle.de/images/dinkel.jpg

    Unripe spelt grain (Gruenkern) looks like this:
    http://www.klopfermuehle.de/images/gruenkern.jpg
    It still has a greenish look and is a little bit shriveled.

    Katrin

    4 January 2009 at 15:32

  4. Katrin,

    Thanks for providing links that show what ripe spelt and unripe spelt grain look like. I was wondering if you could explain the difference between ripe and unripe spelt grain? I was not abled to find the information on the net.

    Carl

    4 January 2009 at 20:28

  5. Hi Carl,
    the difference really is the ripeness of the grain and how the unripe grain is treated after harvesting.
    Unripe spelt grain=Gruenkern is the milk-ripe spelt grain (milk-ripe=if you squeeze the grain it emits a milk-like fluid) harvested before full ripeness and kiln-dryed at 120°-150°C. From this treatment it gets its nuttily flavour typical for it.
    It originated when in bad times farmers had to harvest the crop before full ripeness due to bad weather or delayed maturity of the crop. So that this still wet grain would not deteriorate it was kiln-dryed, for example in the residual heat of the oven after baking bread.
    I hope I could help.

    Katrin

    5 January 2009 at 16:24

  6. Katrin,

    Thank you very much for your explaination. Everything is clear now. Now, I have to figure out what to do with 1 kilo of ripe spelt grains. Maybe if I can borrow Nils new flour grinder? LOL.

    Carl

    6 January 2009 at 13:18

  7. Why not, Carl, but you would have to pick it up yourself :-)

    Been doing some grinding and will make a Vollkornbrot with home-ground cracked rye and rye flour with it.

    theinversecook

    6 January 2009 at 17:23

  8. [...] a comment » Katrin mentioned liking the flavor of Grünkern. I don’t remember eating it, and in my head I had associated it with “health [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

