ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Expos – boterkoeken met krenten (Bloch)

with 7 comments

I stopped short of putting “Rise and Shine” into the title field. The attractive glaze of pastries has always gotten the better of me and led to the consumption of many pretty looking things that did not keep their promise and revealed uninspired and bland innards. Good things often look good, why can’t the reverse also be true! Since I find myself rowing against the current of the “Look Good, Feel Good”-era, this recent addition to the recipe seleciton of the closed bakery Bloch, a yeasted laminated butter dough, came in handy. If I understood the recipe correctly, the dough gets only one “tour”.

Small butter pastries

  • 590g flour
  • 330g milk (or a little less)
  • 2 eggs
  • 50g sugar
  • 15 fresh yeast
  • 10g salt

Make a firm but supple sweet cake dough and chill overnight. 330g of milk (original Bloch recipe) was a bit much in my case.

And:

  • 275g butter, chilled
  • 160g currants

Take the dough and the butter out of the fridge and, depending on how cold, let rest for 10 minutes at room temperature. Roll out the dough to a large rectangle, about 1cm in thickness. Put the butter on 2/3 of the rectangle, sprinkle the currants over the butter. Fold the unbuttered 1/3 onto the buttered center, then fold over the remaining buttered 1/3. Roll out to the same thickness again. Don’t be tempted to roll it out thinner than that, it will make a tough and eventually dense dough. Chill for at least an hour and repeat the folding step one more time. Chill, roll out to a thickness of 5mm. Cut into desired pieces. I put two triangles on top of each other. Prove, glaze with eggwash, bake at about 190°C. Brush with a clear sugar glaze (equal parts of water and sugar brought to the boil once) after they come out of the oven.

Written by theinversecook

11 October 2008 at 16:10

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Unless I stop eating noodles and rice, I won’t be able to keep up with all these ‘good’ stuff! Too many recipes, too little time and space (in the tummy).

    Best
    TP

    TP

    11 October 2008 at 19:06

  2. Oops…sorry. Forgot to say it looks so good that the only practical way I know I can get it, is to ‘try’ to make it myself. Thanks for the recipe and (sigh) extra lbs I’m going to put on.

    TP, hope to get it right.

    TP

    11 October 2008 at 19:47

  3. I know the feeling well! I try to keetp to olive-oil-base pasta sauces, in return eat more bread with butter. No, a decision between pasta and bread would be a dreadful thing. Better not think about it. Regards, Nils

    theinversecook

    11 October 2008 at 22:08

  4. These look wonderful. I love the glossy golden brown top

    Katie

    14 October 2008 at 23:35

  5. Hi, Katie, thanks. Lots of eggwash and sugar glaze worked a treat here. I was susprised they came out this shiny though too. Maybe the trick is to sugarglaze them while still hot.

    theinversecook

    15 October 2008 at 14:39

  6. Great result! I should try to make these myself, I did not know they put this recipe on line. By reading your blog I found out about it.
    You did a pretty good job translating. Have fun baking more!
    Bart
    PS : equal water-sugar => boiling + apply as soon as they come out of the oven = correct.

    Bart Van Mulders

    10 November 2008 at 00:14

  7. Thanks for tne thumbs-up, I wasn’t sure at all.

    Good to see they keep their website alive. Also now available, picture series:

    Reportage winkel/zaal (52 fotos)

    Reportage patisserie (56 fotos)

    Reportage bakkerij (91 fotos)

    theinversecook

    11 November 2008 at 01:29


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

