ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Pain de campagne with bio T1050 flour (and bio yeast)

with 4 comments

Sometimes I like to go all bio just to be sure I am still a home baker and not some flashy bistro. The bio flour, Type 1050, I used here is still a bit darker than its non-bio counterpart. It feels more like whole-wheat flour and tastes like it too. The crumb is not as open compared to a loaf made with the normal T1050-flour. Next time I will make all-sourdough version and maybe add a little malt.

After the final rest on a heavily rye-floured towel, I turned the piece of dough over so an attractive coating of flavorful rye flour adorns the top of the loaf (if I may say so).

Pain de campagne

  • 300g flour, Type 1050
  • 60g levain, hydration: 100%
  • 3g fresh yeast, bio
  • 200g water
  • 7g sea salt

Bulk Fermentation: 2 hours. Fold twice (or more).
Final Fermentation: 1.5 hours.
Bake-Off: At 230°C for 30 minutes

Written by theinversecook

18 July 2008 at 14:25

Posted in Bread, Brot, food, pain, pane, Recipe

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like the new look and the new loaf! Happy baking Nils!

    Jeremy

    18 July 2008 at 15:33

  2. Thanks, Jeremy. I think it looks a little less muddy now…

    theinversecook

    18 July 2008 at 20:56

  3. Glad to see you’re able to bake again. I like the new theme too.

    Susan/Wild Yeast

    20 July 2008 at 02:30

  4. Thanks, Susan. Hope, I can bake more often from now on and share my results.

    theinversecook

    20 July 2008 at 22:23


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

