ye olde bread blogge

bread, coffee and tidbits

Butterstriezel (Challah, Hefezopf, …)

with 8 comments

Tiny amounts of yeast, extensive stretching and folding, long rising times – not for this loaf. The yeast in this case delivers the flavor, a short bulk fermentation and only minimal kneading result in a smooth and soft crumb. Excellent.

Butterstriezel

Sponge

  • 110g flour, Type 700 (strong white flour)
  • 70g warm milk
  • 12g fresh yeast

Let stand for 30 minutes in a warm place.

Dough

  • Sponge
  • 200g flour, Type 700 (strong white flour)
  • 40g sugar
  • 40g warm milk
  • 40g melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 5g salt
  • 50g raisins soaked in 20g rum (optional)
  • 5g vanilla sugar (optional)
  • 5g lemon peel (optional)
  • Eggwash
  • A handful of sliced almonds

Mix to a crumbly mass, then let rest for 3-5 minutes. Knead the dough for 2-3 minutes by hand until it is almost smooth. Do not overknead since this will toughen the dough.
Bulk Fermentation: 15 minutes
Divide into four pieces, roll them into thick cylinders and let them rest covered for 10 minutes. Roll into 1.5-cm-thick strands. Shape braid (a bit difficult to explain).
Final Fermentation: 60-70 minutes
Brush with eggwash and sprinkle the almonds on top.
Bake-off At 170°C for 35 minutes.

I left out the raisins, the rum, the vanilla sugar and the lemon peel. I wanted a clean buttery flavor.

Braiding four strands of dough was the most difficult part. I employed the technique found in Jeffrey Hamelman’s book “Bread”, I had to run back to the book a couple of times to understand the pattern though. Frequent Challah-Braiders may now laugh at me (a Challah is made with oil and water instead of butter and milk).

Source: Alfred Ströck, Jügen Ehrmann: Brot Backen

Written by theinversecook

9 January 2008 at 03:16

Posted in books, Bread, Brot, cake, food, pain, pane, Recipe

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No laughing, your 4-braid is perfect, something I have not been able to master. I thought Hamelman’s instructions were wrong. Must be me.

    wildyeastsusan

    10 January 2008 at 19:05

  2. I’m relieved to hear it, Susan :-) I thought the order of the pictures were a little misleading in the Hamelman book. Thanks for the kind remark.

    theinversecook

    11 January 2008 at 04:41

  3. Edit: Forgot to list the sugar. Added it now.

    theinversecook

    22 September 2008 at 17:22

  4. Dear Theinversecook, during a lot of time I was a silent reader of your inspiring journal. It is a great pleasure to follow your baking experiments.
    Now I would like to bake this Butterstiezel, but I have some questions. The time of bulk fermentation seems to me unusually short. What temperature do you suggest for this fermentation? And I am afraid that there is no much liquid in this dough: only 110 ml of milk for 310 gr of flour (of course, there is some more liquid in the butter and the egg). I would appreciate if you could answer my questions about the amount of liquid and the time of bulk fermentation.

    eliabel

    8 February 2009 at 06:12

  5. Hi eliabel,
    thanks for stopping by! Bulk fermentation is very short indeed. If you’re working in a cold environment it might be too short. There should be first signs of fermentation but don’t let the dough double in height. Because of the high amount of yeast, short resting time helps to keep the dough ‘young’ and to get a uniform and soft crumb.

    Butter and egg contribute to the liquid but if the dough feels too tough for you, add a little water or milk. The dough should be quite firm without being dry or crumbly. You could make it very loose, but that makes it hard to shape in the end.

    theinversecook

    8 February 2009 at 17:59

  6. Thank you so much, I will bake the bread this week-end following your advice. I did not see your answer earlier, and I baked this Butterstriezel past Sunday, adding milk and allowing more time for the fermentation. The dough was too hydrated to braid it, but the bread came out beautifully and was very, very good.
    I would like to thank you also, dear Theinversecook, for your old recipy of the rye ring. I baked your Schleswig-Holsteinian Ring some time before, and I liked it very much. I love rye breads and miss them a lot. I spent my childhood in Russia where the rye bread is highly valued. Now I live in Belgium, where it is not easy to buy a good rye bread, and I bake them for myself. So your journal was a real discovery for me.

    eliabel

    11 February 2009 at 03:02

  7. Thanks eliabel. Lovely to see someone reconnect to the earlier days by means of baking and cooking. Happens to me all the time when I eat home-baked bread. ‘Yeah, tastes like a bread when I was small.’

    theinversecook

    12 February 2009 at 17:03

  8. […] la brutarie. Aluatul – ca de Butterstriezel, dulce, moale, pufos. Intre straturile de aluat, straturi de nuca si un gem de fruncte de padure […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

